The Squat

10 May

I like to think of the squat like marijuana; that is to say, I think the squat is the gateway to weightlifting and powerlifting.  (There is room to play with that analogy, but I’ll leave it at that.)  Perfecting the squat (is that even possible?!) will help me progress into the more dynamic movements, especially when it comes to receiving the bar during a full clean & jerk or snatch.

But, I never realized just how AWFUL my squat technique was until I started reading “Starting Strength: Basic Barbell Training” by Mark Rippetoe.  And with 63 pages dedicated to explaining JUST the squat, well, let’s just say there was A LOT I was doing wrong.

For YEARS I had been doing squats incorrectly that when I actually started paying attention to my technique, there were muscles and joints being used that I had NO idea even existed.  Hips, adductors, thighs, hamstrings, glutes, my entire back, and chest…  it was “Sorry, Honey, I have a headache,” for over a month.  This whole Adventures In Barbell Training kick I’m on is going to take awhile.  I have a feeling I’ve barely scratched the surface.

Leave a Reply

