First Things First

12 May

In my never-ending quest to do things right the first time, every time, I have found a “need” for weightlifting shoes.  Really?  Weightlifting shoes?  I mean c’mon I JUST started barbell training.  Listen, I’m that person that puts the iPod earbud labeled “L” in LEFT ear and the earbud labeled “R” in the RIGHT ear JUST BECAUSE some company decided to label the earbuds that way;  forget the fact that they are both anatomically identical!  If the earbud was labeled for the left ear then that’s the only way it’ll work out.  Couple this psychotic perfectionist tendency with a disdain for half-assing things and all of a sudden, yes, I “needed” weightlifting shoes.

Well, unlike stilettos, I couldn’t just drive down to the local Nordstrom’s and snag me a pair.  To make matters more difficult, I have feet so small that one would think I engaged in ancient Chinese foot binding practices.  AND, weightlifting shoes come in men’s sizes!  Thankfully, coach Phil Clark was able to put me in touch with Todd Lyon of Dynamic Fitness Equipment, whom I was told was one of the nation’s leading expert in weightlifting shoes and equipment.

Todd was able to clue me in on weightlifting shoes and make some recommendations for me.  He even had the Men’s (youth?) size 4.0 that I needed.

And can I just say “WOW!” What a difference!  (Yes, I did try hang power cleans in regular ol’ running shoes before splurging on these.)  What a difference.  My lifts just feel a hundred times more stable and SOLID.  As Martha Stewart would say, “That is a good thing.”

2 Responses to “First Things First”

  1. Helen March 14, 2011 at 00:56 #

    Those shoes are awesome!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Everett On Weightlifting Shoes | AMP3D - April 7, 2011

    […] Really — try it. You’ll like it. […]

Leave a Reply

