I Will Only Ever Be A Middle Distance Runner

21 May

There is a song by CAKE called “The Distance” that goes:

“They deftly maneuver and muscle for rank,
Fuel burning fast on an empty tank.
Reckless and wild, they pour through the turns.
Their prowess is potent and secretly stern.”

It was a something like that.  All I know is:  It was the sprint portion of Run Drills and I was supposed to run a group 120 meter sprint.  I heard “Ready!  GO!”  I passed 2 people and still felt strong.  In a matter of seconds, I was right up behind the fastest guys of the group.  So close, I could taste their sweat.  I was determined to finish with them so I “BAM! kick(ed) it up a notch.”

Or, maybe it was 2 or 3 notches because I got this instantaneous fireball in my right quad and I couldn’t help but limp.

I think I strained my quad!  I think this is an opportune time to FINALLY try some kinesio therapeutic (KT) tape!

It took half a week to locate KT Tape.  NO one in Philadelphia sells the stuff so we drove to New Jersey.  By this time, I also developed a twinge in my right knee, no doubt due to maintaining my current run volume with a strained quad.  But, we finally got the stuff and I noticed an immediate improvement after taping my patella.

The application directions on the site are almost TOO general so I’m not sure if I’m taping my quad in the most beneficial way.  Time will tell I guess.  In the mean time, no sprints for me.  Perhaps, as Sea Wolf puts it, “I will only ever be a middle-distance runner.”  And by middle distance I mean, 1 mile?

Leave a Reply

