PB&J Oatmeal

4 Jun

Eating nutritiously doesn’t have to be complicated, nor does it have to be bland.  No, really.  I like clean eating because it’s SIMPLE and it tastes good.  When it comes to my nutrition, I like to think of food like this:

IF (a=b) AND (a=c) THEN (b=c)

IF (ingredients = healthy) AND (ingredients = meal) THEN (meal = healthy)

Eating clean is simple.  I just take my favorite meals, omit the chemical preservatives, omit the unnecessary fat, the high amounts of sugar, the salt-laden ingredients, and I just go back to SIMPLE wholesome ingredients.

Case in point:  Yesterday I so badly wanted a peanut butter and jelly sandwich.

So white bread –> slow-cooking Irish oatmeal
Peanut butter –> all-natural, sugar-free, almond butter (it’s just almonds that are ground up into a creamy consistency).
Jelly –> Smashed strawberries

I sweetened it with a touch (just a touch) of agave nectar

Did it taste exactly like a PB&J sandwich?  Not exactly.  But, did it taste good?  Yup!!

2 Responses to “PB&J Oatmeal”

  1. Tes June 4, 2010 at 13:07 #

    I love the way of making food more healthy. It’s good to take care of your family this way. I love your recipe. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Ben June 23, 2010 at 04:06 #

    I need food for really fast muscle recovery… stat!

Leave a Reply

