Meet My Mom

15 Jun

Meet my Mom!  (I know this is my CrossFit blog but there are some successes that far exceed (in my opinion) setting a new deadlift PR!)

About 10 years ago, my mom was diagnosed with Type II diabetes.  Though, up until very recently you never would’ve guessed because, well, she indulged in sweets as if she was not at all diabetic!  I believe in practicing what you preach so I always did my best to set a good example by kindly declining a trip to IHOP, ordering steamed veggies no butter at restaurants, and putting in my 20 minutes of dreadmill cardio followed up with strength training (before I started CrossFit) when I went home to visit.  But, eventually, I had to make peace with the fact that she probably wouldn’t pass from this world without cataracts, amputated limbs, and perhaps even a bipass.  Because, at the end of the day YOU CAN’T HELP SOMEONE THAT DOESN’T WANT TO FIRST HELP THEMSELVES. Family included.

So, imagine my sheer delight and excitement when my mom, MY MOM, my donut-loving, pastry-indulging, ‘hey want to grab breakfast at Ihop?’ mom, called me up and announced that she was ready to make some lifestyle changes.  This all happened about a month ago and at first we were calling each other 5 times a day, checking in, making meal plans, testing blood glucose levels.  And at around 30 minutes a phone call, you do the math but all I know is I’m really glad I added Mom to my T-Mobile MyFaves for free, unlimited calling!

Within a month of Clean Eating and discovering that almost all processed carbohydrates spike her blood glucose levels into the 200 mg/dL  (Read:  “HOLY HELL!  GET ON A TREADMILL STAT!”), Mom has managed to lower her “bad” cholesterol, lower her body fat, she no longer feels nauseous after every meal, and has brought her daytime average blood glucose down from 250 mg/dL into the 120-130 mg/dL range.  AMAZING!

Here is a picture of my frumpy OLD mom:

And HERE is my energetic, clean-eating, treadmill-jogging NEW mom!!!  (Oooh la la!  Just look at those legs!)

Honestly, the change in her attitude, her approach to nutrition, and her decision-making is like night and day!  My kids are going to have not just a grandma, but a grandma that can play with them, take them for a jog in a jogging stroller, cook them healthy meals.  It brings tears to my eyes!

Old Mom: Never checked her blood glucose levels because ignorance is bliss.
New Mom: Diligently monitors her glucose levels before meals and 2 hours after.

Old Mom: Made excuses for not exercising.
New Mom: Goes jogging almost every MORNING!  Completes interval jogs and even jogs outside!

Old Mom: Ordered dessert at restaurants.
New Mom: Orders extra veggies, no bread… and skips the dessert tray entirely!

Old Mom: Stopped for chinese takeout and ordered fried egg rolls when she was hungry while out.
New Mom: Packs a lunch bag with healthy snacks and fruits so she never has to stop for fast food.

Old Mom: Catered to everyone else’s palette and cooked to please everyone else.
New Mom: Takes a stand in the name of health and cooks nutritious dinners.  And if no one else wants to eat healthily, they can make dinner themselves!  (Heck ya.  To copy McDonald’s slogan, “I’m Lovin’ It.”)

Old Mom: Ate white rice 3+ times a day.
New Mom: Does not eat white rice… AT ALL.  (This is a HUGE deal!)

Old Mom: Stayed in her pajamas all day.
New Mom: Rolls out of bed and into workout clothes… with matching shoes.  ;o)

Old Mom: Never left the house.
New Mom: Is energetic and on-the-go with her packed fruits and salads.  One time she stayed out for 7 hours straight (totally NOT what I’m used to) and I about had a HEART ATTACK because I thought something awful happened to her.  She could’ve told me ahead of time that she was going to a Health Fair and met up with a nutritionist!  :oP  So happy for her, really.

Let me tell you, I am one damn proud daughter.  These lifestyle changes take time, commitment, and dedication.  I could go on and on but it’s 10:00 am here in Philly.  Which means, it’s time to call Mom and get the “I ate oatmeal with blueberries and scrambled eggs for breakfast and I’m going to get on the treadmill for 30 minutes!!” report.

6 Responses to “Meet My Mom”

  1. Jen June 16, 2010 at 15:48 #

    THIS is what needs to be talked about Jess! BRAVO to you for spotlighting your moms hard work and diligence. People seem to think its pointless to change, or “too hard.” I love the quote “It’s never too late, it’s never too bad, and you’re never too old or too sick to start from scratch once again…” -Bikram Choudhury

    Sounds like your mom has put in some hard work and it shows! It’s not easy, and MAJOR KUDOS to her for making her health a priority!!! YAY MOM!

    • jessicamacho June 24, 2010 at 15:36 #

      THANKS for the encouragement, Jen! I like that quote. It’s NEVER too late to start making SOME kind of change. It all starts with small changes but then those small changes snowball into great achievements.

  2. Thelma Ibanez June 17, 2010 at 13:16 #

    OMG!! This is the Cera I remember, you just go on wit yo bad self gurl…yes, It just takes that one day to wake up and say “Time to start living”. Carpe diem..because it matters not just to ones self but to all who love you.
    Congrats on the new lifestyle..
    Note to Cera…now please try to train my old dog that will be there in next week! LOL..

    XOxo Love,
    Thelm

    • jessicamacho June 24, 2010 at 15:35 #

      You’re so sweet, Auntie Thelma! Carpe diem – YES! Like you mentioned, it matters also to all those whom love you. It’s great to take care of ourselves for our own personal fulfillment, but it’s also good to maintain good health for all those that need us: our children, our spouses. :o)

  3. Sarah August 18, 2010 at 15:51 #

    Oh, how I *wish* my mom would follow suit! She complains about being overweight and not feeling well, yet she refuses to do anything about it! She continues to eat sugary, carby meals and sit around all day. So frustrating to watch someone do that to themselves, but like you said–you can’t help someone who doesn’t want to help themselves, right?

    Kudos to your mom! (And to you, for supplying her with the information & support necessary to make the change!)

    • jessicamacho August 19, 2010 at 08:29 #

      Thanks for the kudos, Sarah. I understand the frustration of watching someone we love so dearly not take care of their bodies. But, all we can do is continue to be an example and hope that one day the ones we love will follow suit. It took a long time for my mom to jump on the bandwagon. It’s never too late for your mom… it’s never too late to turn things around!

Leave a Reply

