Dead.Lift.

1 Jul

Deadlifts are quickly becoming one of my favorite lifts.  Before starting CrossFit, I was doing my 25 lb bicep curls and my barbell good mornings… all the good “globo” moves.  But, I could not deadlift a mere 80 pounds.

I don’t know what I enjoy more about deadlifting:  The fact that I’ve managed to bump up my PR from 80 pounds to 170 pounds in 3.5 months, or the fact that it’s just plain exhilerating to lift heavy weights from a dead stop.  And I really like how it’s so dang FUNCTIONAL!  Like, when do I not have to pick stuff up off the floor?!

I call The Deadlift a “brute” lift because it requires just brute strength.  Either you have the strength to get the bar off the floor, or you don’t.  I can’t “bounce up” out of a deadlift like I can with a squat or a bench press.  I don’t get to use momentum like I do with pullups, or clean and jerks.  Plus, the lift starts in a half squat position, in the eccentric portion of the movement.  At first it seems like the weight just won’t budge.  But, then I have to just press my heels into the ground and SQUEEZE my way up.  How can something so simple be so difficult?  Oh, I do love the simplicity of The Deadlift.

 

I was most surprised at how deadlifts increase my heart rate!  Bonus!  Here’s a vid of both Ryan and me doing some sets 5 rep deadlifts.  (The couple that lifts together, stays together right?  Well, until we have kids and then it’s, “you watch the babies while I lift and then we’ll switch, mmmk?”  I very much hope that will be the case (“very much hope” – is that proper English??)

I think I was only lifting 135# in the vid, but got up to 150# (about 80% of my 1RM.)  I like to do my 5 rep sets at 80% of my 1RM for no reason in particular.

9 Responses to “Dead.Lift.”

  1. Ben July 2, 2010 at 10:13 #

    I was waiting for the next GWIAB post. Great photos, you should look at a ‘lightbox’ plugin for your blog so the photos pop up instead of leading to a new page. Thanks for the comment on SickyGnar btw. Any how to suggestions?

    • jessicamacho July 2, 2010 at 14:35 #

      Thanks! And I will look into Lightbox. I like the popup window you have on SickyGnar – I’m assuming that’s Lightbox?

      As for “How To” suggestions: I’m such a beginner climber that ANY how-to is helpful. If your target audience or most of your readers are beginners, then the world is your oyster. Anything from how to pick out the right shoes (I was told lace up shoes were better) to how to determine if a previous anchor is safe to how to make a crack glove is good info. If your audience/readers are more advanced then technical how-to’s might be more appropriate.

      The thing about Rock Climbing is that it’s so technical that it’s almost intimidating to start. Plus, all the information out there isn’t as interactive as blogs. Pictures and videos are really helpful. Like the pictures in your last how-to post helped a lot… the fact that I could click on the image and it would magnify in a separate window is something that I can’t get out of a book. You can do A TON of cool stuff with the how-to section. For me, even just strolling through REI’s climbing section is intimidating. I have NO clue what makes one rope better than the other, or when to use what type of rope. I had no clue on how to pick out a harness, how to know if my carabiner needs to be replaced, how to set up anchors.

      Take your camera everywhere. Even some minute detail that would normally get overlooked could make for a very helpful how-to post.

  2. Jen July 2, 2010 at 15:43 #

    WHERE did you get those awesome pink shorts? :p

    Love the DL’s form looks amazing both of ya! I do not know my DL max, I am waiting for that one to come up. But 180 sounds massive for someone your size! NICE!!!

    • jessicamacho July 4, 2010 at 01:10 #

      I was trying to remember where I got those the other day! I can’t for the life of me remember. I think I might have gotten them at the Navy Exchange on a base or something.

      Oh, I don’t lift 180 (yet.) I’m still at 170! It is heavy, though. It’s an awkward feeling lift. Here’s hoping you get a 1RM deadlift WOD!

  3. Jen July 24, 2010 at 23:54 #

    OK rewatched this vid now that I know what I am looking at! DAMN good looking deadlifts! 🙂

    • jessicamacho July 26, 2010 at 07:56 #

      Thanks, Jen! It just FEELS so awkward, though, especially as the weights get heavier. Sometimes it seems that what I see on camera isn’t what I feel. But, if you say they look good, I’ll take it!

  4. LOL April 9, 2011 at 20:53 #

    Why don’t you get that sweet ass back in the kitchen, mmkay?

  5. julialadewski July 26, 2011 at 09:12 #

    LOVE deadlifting… question about the private vid… what did you use to do that??

    • jessicamacho July 26, 2011 at 12:39 #

      I like to use Vimeo for my vids. They have options where you can make individual vids private.

Leave a Reply

