Because Regular Pushups Are Getting Boring

21 Jul

I wonder what it must look like to other people when they see me on my hands, against a wall, attempting to vertically lower and raise my entire body.  Ah, the Handstand Pushup.

But, why do handstand pushups when I can just do regular pushups, or shoulder presses, or dumbbell overhead presses?  I’m not opposed to those… it’s just that I want something new and fresh.  I already know how to do pushups and presses; I want to progress and LEARN to do something different.  It’s kinda like this bull:

(That’s what she said.)

Well, today’s CrossFit WOD called for 7 Rounds of: (3) Cleans and (4) Ring Handstand Pushups.  I had a cool rig I was going to test out involving resistance bands but there was just one itty bitty problem:  I still don’t have the strength to do a ring handstand pushup (much less four of them) even with the resistance bands!  Ryan, however, was a ring handstand pushup stud(muffin):

Feeling defeated, I was stuck with the “regular” handstand pushups.  I usually use a 2-plate target for the HSPU.  But, much to my surprise, today I lowered the target and now I’m VERY close to nailing my FIRST head-to-ground handstand pushup!  Soon, soon!  So, even though I was unable to do handstand pushups on wobbly gymnast rings, I’m quite satisfied with the progress on my regular handstand pushups.

The ultimate goal is to be able to do an unassisted handstand hold, then an unassisted handstand walk, and the Mutha of All Muthas:  The handstand pushup on parallettes and ring handstand pushups.  (Oh, yeah right!  I can’t even imagine that yet.  Then again, I never thought I’d be able to do a muscle up either.)

Here’s a vid of Ryan and me having fun with handstands.  When Jen and Josh rented a house with a grassy yard in Utah for their Ironman, we were reminded of the simple pleasures sacrificed with city life.  So, we took full advantage of flipping around in poop-free grass while the sun set.  It was most awesome.

3 Responses to “Because Regular Pushups Are Getting Boring”

  1. Heather July 22, 2010 at 08:25 #

    thanks for the encouraging words! Good luck with your hand stand pushups, I am trying to get those down too!

  2. Jen July 24, 2010 at 23:51 #

    I am AMAZED with ring HSPU’s and HSPU’s for that matter. I still just chill on the wall and lower a good inch! :p You two are super crossfit couple!

    • jessicamacho July 26, 2010 at 07:57 #

      Ohhh, ring HSPU are so hard! SO, so difficult! My full HSPU have been in the making for a while now. I do remember only being able to lower just an inch!

Leave a Reply

