A Date with “Angie”

21 Aug

I completed my first “Angie” WOD! (Well, almost.  It was mostly as Rx’d.)

I don’t know why but I was SO so so nervous the entire morning before the WOD.  I found this a little weird because, well, I CrossFit with just Ryan, not in a group and not in an affiliate box.  I guess I was just anxious because I knew this would be a benchmark workout and I didn’t want to fail myself.

I was SCARED.  Scared because I KNEW, beyond a shadow of a doubt, that at some point during that workout I would want to QUIT.  I knew it was going to hurt, I was going to burn, my muscles would want to give out, I would want to quit.  I knew I would have to dig deep and confront myself… my weak self.  And the thought of that was kind of… scary.

It’s weird how CrossFit will bring out the competitor in you.  I’m constantly afraid (maybe “afraid” isn’t quite the right word) of letting of MYSELF down.

Anyway, the “Angie” WOD is:
100 Pullups
100 Pushups
100 Situps
100 Squats

For time!  Aaah!

As expected, pullups took me the longest.  I did 60 unassisted pullups (a combo of kip and strict) and 40 band assisted total.  Everything else was as Rx’d.

My times:
14:47 min for Pullups
10:22 min for Pushups
3:58 min for Situps
4:08 min for Squats

33:09 min total for “Angie”

***

Oh, and this is totally unrelated to CrossFit but my picture above reminded me of the Stop CMV Awareness movement.  If you’re a woman, whether you CrossFit or not, it’s good to at least be aware of Cytomegalovirus!

 

7 Responses to “A Date with “Angie””

  1. JD Ravenhurst August 21, 2010 at 20:45 #

    Don’t fret Jess. I’m sure that everyone is scared or some what anxious before any WOD or heavy lift, I know I am!
    My coaches always tell us that “If you’re not scared, it isn’t hard enough. If the weight on the bar doesn’t freak you out, it’s not heavy enough”.

    These feelings, the pressure, should motivate us to do better…and it looks like it worked for you. Great job on ‘Angie’, keep it up!

    • jessicamacho August 28, 2010 at 14:22 #

      “If you’re not scared, it isn’t hard enough.” <– YES! That's a good way of looking at it. I don't like playing it TOO safe, I don't like EASY. Sounds like your coach and your box have great momentum and motivation.

  2. Heather August 22, 2010 at 18:34 #

    That is awesome!! Great job with the pullups!

  3. Brittany August 22, 2010 at 22:33 #

    I love reading your blog and living vicariously through your intense workouts!! And when I saw the pic I thought the same thing about STOP CMV pic and had to do a double read when you mention that. Thanks for spreading the awareness love and being a strong beautiful woman!

    • jessicamacho August 28, 2010 at 14:23 #

      OF COURSE, I’ll spread the word whenever I can! It’s great awareness movement. Before you, I had NO idea about CMV. Keep up the great work!

  4. cubetokitchen September 11, 2010 at 09:34 #

    I recently had a date with Angie (well Angie’s mean little sister since I had to scale but they added a long run)I was scared too. Love your blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

