My New CrossFit Kicks

21 Aug

So, CrossFit has a way of intermingling barbell lifts with sprints, box jumps, burpees, and double unders.

And herein lies my problem with that:  I can’t lift in running shoes and I can’t run/jump in my weighlifting shoes! Trying to do double unders in weighlifting shoes is not cool, man, not cool.

Enter my new CrossFit kicks:  the new 2010 Vibram Five Finger Bikilas!

They are SOOO goofy-looking, I know!  But, my husband swears by his pair of Vibram KSO’s.  (He also swears by the power of CrossFit and is the one person I credit for getting me into CrossFit, so I tend to trust his opinion.)

These Five Fingers have no soles and tread measuring only 2mm-4mm thick.  It’s basically like running/lifting barefoot but with some rubber protection under your feet.  I needed the smallest size of these that Vibram produces so OF COURSE it was hard to locate a pair.  I almost gave up.  Then earlier this week, I came home to these all propped up on the counter:

For WODs like Linda or CrossFit Total, I’ll use only my weighlifting shoes.  But for WOD’s with jumping around, burpees, and some barbell lifts, I’ll use my Bikilas.  Even though these are Vibram’s premier barefoot running “shoe,”  I’ll probably stick to my cush Saucony’s for running miles.  The tread on the bottom is pretty cool, though.  It’s slightly thicker around the balls of the foot, kind of a like a pod.  It makes you want to rock back and forth just on the balls of the foot.  I read that it’s like that so as to promote landing on the balls of the foot, as opposed to heel-striking.

Now that Ryan and I match, I’m sure we’ll get DOUBLE the questions regarding these “shoes.”  We can’t walk from the gym back to our apartment without at least one question about it.  Add to that the fact that mine are bright pink and orange!  Oh, well.  They’re just as funny looking as walking in 4″ stilettos, but way more functional.

3 Responses to “My New CrossFit Kicks”

  1. JD Ravenhurst August 21, 2010 at 20:33 #

    Ha. When I saw the title I automatically thought of 2 things: some old-school fluro Nikes (don’t know why), and the Vibram 5 fingers. They seem to be the “it” thing, the “must haves” for every crossfitter at the moment, especially at my box.
    Unfortunately I haven’t caught onto the hype just yet, but I do find them fascinating and would love to try on a pair and walk around in them for a day. Maybe sometime soon.
    Enjoy the new “shoes”!

    • jessicamacho August 28, 2010 at 14:21 #

      Thanks, JD! The Vibram’s have been working well for me so far. I must admit, at first I was WAY against the hype. But, my favorite thing about them so far is how I don’t actually feel the “shoe” around my feet. I have wide feet with narrow heals so I’m always feeling something regarding the shoe. So far, so good. :o)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Crossfit « The Fit, The Fat & The Fugly - November 21, 2010

    […] My New CrossFit Kicks (crossfitjess.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

