Snatch’z

23 Aug

Today was an Rx’d Rest Day so I took the “day off” to work on my Snatches.  Why would I do that??  Because SNATCHES  SCARE  THE  LIVING  SHIZIT  OUT  OF  ME.  (Yes, I’m cyber yelling in a freaked-out kind of way!)  I don’t blame myself for twitching uncontrollably whenever I see “Snatch” on a WOD.  I mean, really, I’m supposed to essentially deadlift into a jump and go airborne with a weighted bar and then drop down into a squat and catch the bar OVER MY HEAD?  (I obviously have confidence issues.)

But, after an hour and 15 minutes of practicing, filming, reviewing the tape, and practicing again I feel much more confident about the whole thing.  There is a lot of fine tuning that needs to be done but overall I’m cool with the progress, especially considering that I’m not with a box or affiliate. I’m CF’ing in a globo, and I don’t wod in a group with CF coaches so Ryan and I are learning these moves from various Burgener threads floating around the CF forums, by reading up on the technique, and by watching tons of vids (especially those of Olympian Eva Twardokens.)  Considering all that, I think we’re coming along just fine.  The more reps I did, the more comfortable and stable I got with the motion.  Ahh, makes sense.

Some of my progression footage:

7 Responses to “Snatch’z”

  1. Jen August 23, 2010 at 23:29 #

    DAMN looks good to me!!! 🙂 Cannot say I have ever attempted a snatch, but I have SEEN them plenty via vids, and other people and you guys are looking really solid. I will revisit this after next weekend. J and I are going to an Oly lifting clinic. Props to you guys for learning these lifts on your own!

    PS – LOVING the VIBRAMS!!!!!!

    • jessicamacho August 28, 2010 at 14:24 #

      The vibrams have been working out SO WELL for me! My feet really took right to them. Let me know how the Oly lift clinic goes! I wish we had something like that around here. Maybe we do and I just don’t know about it.

  2. Sarah August 23, 2010 at 23:59 #

    1. My husband and I started our CF journey out of a globo gym, and then out of our garage (as we purchased equipment). To be honest, I think some of the best CFers start out on their own, unaffiliated. At least those I’ve come across.
    2. Do you guys lift in front of a mirror? I only ask because when we trained at a globo gym, we were always lifting in front of a mirror. We both felt more comfortable that way–like we could “see” our form, etc. When we switched to a box, we realized that we didn’t have mirrors to check our form, and we had to somewhat ‘relearn’ all of our lifts, based on how they FELT and not on how they LOOKED. Anyway, just a suggestion, if you are using a mirror. And if you’re not–good for you!
    3. Your snatch improved drastically over the course of that video! And you’re right–the snatch is a lift that has everything to do with confidence. It was my least favorite lift for the longest time, and just recently (as in…oh, the past few weeks), I’ve fallen in love with it and it has become one of my new favorites (along with deads & OHS).
    4. I am envious of your legs. I don’t mean for that to be creepy, so don’t read it that way. But seriously–your legs are awesome, girl!

    • jessicamacho August 28, 2010 at 14:30 #

      Hey, Sara! So, do you guys WOD in a box now, or in your garage? My husband and I are thinking of doing our own garage gym within the next year so it would be great to hear your thoughts. Sometimes I think the one element we are missing in our WOD is the group dynamic that comes with working out in a box with others. There is something about working in a group that adds a little more motivation.

      Our gym is a no-mirror gym so, no, we don’t work out in front of mirror. The owner of our gym emphasizes developing a keen kinesthetic awareness. I had to relearn my squat technique. My husband and I are big into filming some of our techniques and our lifts. While lifting we get a “feel” for how things went and then we immediately check the footage for confirmation or to “see” where we need to improve. But, I agree with you in that it is better to feel the correct technique.

      The snatch is one of your new favorite lifts??! Oh, WOW! One day I’ll get to that point but for now I’ll just be in awe of you. :o)

      Thanks for the not-creepy :o) leg comment! I lucked out with genetics to be honest. My legs have always been the easiest to tone up etc. My abs – not so much! Thanks to CF, I’m learning to like what I’ve been given but I’m most appreciative how I’ve come to realize that these legs are good for DOING something!

      • Sarah August 29, 2010 at 11:26 #

        We’re in a box now…started about 3 months ago. We still have our garage set up so we can mess around at home, or on days we can’t make it in to the box, but like you said–the community aspect of a box makes a HUGE difference. It’s awesome!

        As far as the abs go…are you eating Zone or Paleo? My favorite quote is “Abs are made in the kitchen.” It’s so true! Once you dial in the diet, the abs just sort of appear out of nowhere 😉

  3. Heather August 28, 2010 at 17:29 #

    I have never done a snatch! You give me motivation to try one!
    I’m glad you liked the meatballs! I haven’t cooked in a while, need to try out some new paleo recipes!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Snatch | B1ZZLE.COM - December 9, 2010

    […] Snatch’z (crossfitjess.wordpress.com) Tags:  Clean and jerk, crossfit, Olympic weightlifting, Snatch (weightlifting) This entry was posted on Thursday, December 9th, 2010 at 9:05 pm and is filed under Crossfit. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site. […]

Leave a Reply

