Getting Serious

23 Sep

We’re starting to get a little psycho serious with our scaling.  And by “psycho” “serious,” I mean busting out the Strength & Conditioning text book, pulling out Rippetoe’s “Strength Standards” chart, looking up 1RM charts, running calcs with an iPod calculator, and strategizing.  Psycho, no?

So, tonight’s WOD of:
Shoulder Press 3-3-3-3-3-3-3
was the perfect opportunity to test out scaling.

Theoretically, since I was completing sets of 3 reps, I could (should?) lift at 93% of my 1RM.  (For shoulder press, my 1RM is 75#.  Thus, 93% of 75# = 70#)  My goal was to lift 70# by set 4 and finish the WOD at 70#.  And since the purpose of tonight’s WOD was strength development, we made sure our rest between sets was capped to 2 minutes.

As it turns out, the scaling in relation to our 1RM was right on point!  Like, whoa.  What I like most is that there is a lot less guess-n-check going on.  EFFICIENCY, baby.  Looks like I might be busting out the ol’ calculator more often for powerlifting WODs.

Do you guys calculate your theoretical loads based on your 1RM’s?  What’s your strategy?

4 Responses to “Getting Serious”

  1. Jen September 26, 2010 at 22:31 #

    SI SENORITA! Before each strength WOD people are busting out their iPhones to do 1 rep max calcs. It takes us FOREVER just to get started. I always write mine on the board I *think* we tend to do a 60-70-80-90-100-100+(%). I could be wrong, I screw this up often! :p

    But for our ST we do a week at 5-5-5-5-5, then the following week is 3-3-3-3-3 then we do a 5-5-3-3-3-1-1-1 (? maybe not exact but something like this) to find actual one rep maxes. This is set up to follow a 3 week periodization and then deload week. Seems to work out well for me…but I am still quite green!

    How was your press tonight? That one is so rough!

  2. Jen September 26, 2010 at 22:33 #

    Did you get my comment? I posted and don’t see it!

  3. JD Ravenhurst October 8, 2010 at 06:06 #

    haha. I love how the title of the post is
    “getting serious
    “, and then there you both are with huge smiles across your faces.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. WOD – Push for density « The Fit, The Fat & The Fugly - November 22, 2010

    […] Getting Serious (crossfitjess.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

