Latest Obsession: Kale Chips

23 Sep

Let’s talk about Kale Chips!  Or, not!  I probably can’t actually TALK about them because I’m too busy stuffing my face with these (surprisingly?) delicious crisped leaves of… lettuce?  I don’t even know how I’m going to get through typing this blog because I need my hands, yes both hands, to shove “chips” in my mouth.  I need Kale chips in my mouth.

This is a good recipe for recipe-phobes like me.  (I don’t consider recipes with more than 5 ingredients.  Seven or more ingredients and I’d rather get a root canal.)  So, basically…

1.  Cut, rinse, spin the Kale.
2.  Lay cut kale leaves on a baking pan.
3.  Spritz with a lil’ bit o’ Pam cooking spray… Just a LITTLE!
4.  Sprinkle with salt, if that’s your thing.
5.  Bake at 350 degrees until leaves crisp up and make a “tin foil tissue paper crinkling sound” when you touch it.  (About 15 minutes?)

Then… this is most important!
6.  Remove from oven and spritz with fresh squeezed lemon juice.

You know how I know these are good?  ‘Cause my vegetable-hating dog requires her own bowl since she loves it so much.  I make extra Kale Chips… FOR MY DOG.

The other day I had some Kale Chips with Zucchini Hummus.  Not too shabby!  It’s like a health conscious person’s version of “chips ‘n’ dip.”  Go ‘head… you can call me a Health Nut.

5 Responses to “Latest Obsession: Kale Chips”

  1. Sara Morris September 28, 2010 at 13:52 #

    How did you make the Zucchini Hummus? I’m excited to try making the Kale chips 🙂

    • jessicamacho September 28, 2010 at 14:38 #

      Hey Sara! The recipe for the Zucchini Hummus is:
      1 can garbanzo beans (aka chick peas)
      2 Tb tahini
      1 Tb olive oil
      1 tsp cumin
      1 clove garlic
      4 Tb lemon juice
      1/2 zucchini

      I just put everything in a food processor and blend away until creamy!

      I have Kale chips baking in the oven right now as I type! Definitely spritz it with lemon or lime – it helps balance the flavor of the Kale, in my opinion.

      • jessicamacho September 28, 2010 at 14:39 #

        Oh, I forgot to mention… only drain half the liquid of the canned garbanzo beans.

  2. Sara Morris October 11, 2010 at 16:55 #

    I bought Kale to make these, I am very excited!!!

    • jessicamacho October 11, 2010 at 23:25 #

      COOL! Definitely try it with a spritz of lemon – it makes all the difference!

Leave a Reply

