I’m Back (with a short rant!)

5 Jan

I’m back!  I’m back!  The end of 2010 was crazy.  I had to take a 5 week hiatus from CrossFit when I flew out to Cali to help with my Grandmommy in the hospital.  :o(

I’m usually a “no excuses” type of person when it comes to my workouts, but this was one instance that really did require a shift in priorities.  In my last post, I had just received Robb Wolf’s “The Paleo Solution” and was eager to read it.  I got this unexplainable overwhelming urgency to finish the book, so I did.  Then about 4 days later I got a call from my mom; my grandma was in the hospital for diabetes related complications.  The beginning stages of renal failure is not pretty, folks.  The complications were dealt with but they would not release her because her blood glucose levels were always high such that they put her on a second type of insulin.

Well, NO SH!T, Sherlock!!

If only you could have seen what they were bringing her for breakfast, my friends!  I’m talking Pancakes, French Toast, Orange Juice, Toast with “sugar-free” jelly, Bagels, Oatmeal, powdered eggs that was supposed to resemble real eggs, and bacon.

Why would anyone give such high glycemic foods to a diabetic patient?! WELL, because, “even though these are indeed high glycemic foods, they are still approved by the American Diabetes Association and are part of the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s food pyramid.”  No joke, that is what the nurses and dietician told us.  I won’t lie:  Hearing that made me want to kick her in the crotch at 22 mph.

Long story short:  We cut out her processed carbs and her readings were still high.  Come to find out… it was the OATMEAL (this healthy grain) that was also spiking her blood glucose levels.

What a shame that you would have to specifically request FRESH fruits in a hospital.  What a shame that when you deliberately left out a starch or grains food group, they would ADD IT IN FOR YOU!!  (Yes, ALL CAPS was necessary there.)

Anyway, I’ll keep this rant short.  Needless to say, I helped show my Grandma how to eat Paleo.  Over the course of 2 weeks, we were able to cut out her sliding scale insulin (Dr. approved, of course, just like those pancakes and bagels.)  And we stabilized her blood glucose levels to the sub 120 mg/dL range.

This experience, in addition to what I’ve read, is proof enough for me that this Paleo thing trumps the USDA’s food pyramid.  Consider me sold on this Paleo thing.  😉

7 Responses to “I’m Back (with a short rant!)”

  1. Jim Ryan January 5, 2011 at 13:32 #

    Very sorry to hear about your Grandmother. When I first came across your blog, I put the feed in my reader to get the updates. I hope that everything works out for her. Get back under that barbell!

    Jim

    • jessicamacho January 7, 2011 at 07:27 #

      Thanks for the well-wishes, Jim. I’m happy to say that G’ma is doing MUCH better, is out of the hospital, and is making great strides to change her nutrition. Thanks for following my blog!

  2. Kristinefitness January 5, 2011 at 15:58 #

    It drives me nuts how awful hospital food is. No wonder everyone is so weak and sick by the time they get out.

    • jessicamacho January 7, 2011 at 07:28 #

      Kristine – I KNOW! I was completely dumbfounded. For people that don’t understand nutrition, they TRUST the hospital staff. So, when a tray of pancakes with syrup is presented for breakfast, patients assume it’s ok. And when you’re diabetic, it’s not ok.

      • Kristinefitness January 8, 2011 at 12:14 #

        Exactly…. and fruit juice with cookies for snacks…..whaaat

  3. Brittany January 20, 2011 at 13:42 #

    The food offering appalled me when I was there for 2 weeks. Needless to say, I had high bills from having Joe fetch me food elsewhere!

    • jessicamacho January 21, 2011 at 08:54 #

      We ended up fetching Grandmommy some food outside of the hospital, too. Fresh veggies from grocery stores and we found some healthy options at a local Vietnamese restaurant. But, I did have to convince the rest of the family that the food outside of the hospital was actually healthier. They thought hospital food WAS the healthiest option.

Leave a Reply

