Meet My Vita-Mix

18 Jan

I would much rather try to navigate my way through speeding traffic in a pair of 5″ stilettos rather than try to navigate my way around a kitchen.  There is something about chopping and dicing while stirring and sauteing and oh crap! dinner is boiling up out of the pot, that makes me twitch with sensory overload.  The extent of my cooking knowledge is:  A Pampered Chef silicone spatula is the only cooking utensil I’ll ever need and extra virgin olive oil is definitely not pregnant.  So, believe me when I say that I am the LAST person on earth worthy of the splendor that is (drum roll please) a VITA-MIX.

When I first pitched the idea of getting a Vita-Mix to Ryan (“But it’s like 50 appliances in 1!  It makes icecream – your favorite!”) his first question was, “How much?”  End of discussion.  And when I told my Mom that we were saving up for one, because very rarely is the end of a discussion really an end of discussion, she responded with “No way!  That is way too much for a blender.”  And it is!  I don’t argue that point.  But after seeing a demo in person, Mom made a substantial contribution to our “Vita-Mix Savings Fund” and we were able to get our Lamborghini of Blenders sooner than expected!!!  Mom even threw in a dry blade for us so we now grind our own coffee beans and we can make our own oatmeal flour or almond meal if we want.

This ‘little’ kitchen appliance truly has taken our nutrition to the next level.  Aside from a can of tuna or tomato sauce, we no longer buy things in jars or cans where preservatives would be needed.  We buy things in bulk and now make our own peanut butter, almond butter, guac, and salsa using fresh ingredients.  It’s amazing – you just throw stuff in, blend for 20 seconds, and voila:

The smoothies that come out of this thing are Jamba Juice status but without the unnecessary sugar.  I use it to grate sweet potatoes for sweet potato hash and cauliflower for cauliflower rice.  We’ve made Primal Nutella, hummus, raspberry dressing.  We’ve even made soup with it!

HUGE thanks to Mom on this one!  Eating healthily has never been more fun!

14 Responses to “Meet My Vita-Mix”

  1. Brittany January 18, 2011 at 13:37 #

    Very exciting news!!! What speed are you doing your salsa on? It still looks a little chunky (which I like) or no?

    • jessicamacho January 18, 2011 at 17:20 #

      So exciting! For the salsa consistency, it depends on my mood. I like mine chunky like pico de gallo, but Ryan likes his more like a salsa. For the chunky types, I run the speed at 4-5. For the salsa consistency, I run it at 7-8 but since it nearly pulverizes everything, I like to drain out some of the liquid afterwards.

  2. Sara January 18, 2011 at 13:48 #

    I need that blender. I use a ton of almond flour and nut flours if I made my own it would save so much $$.

    • jessicamacho January 18, 2011 at 17:30 #

      Sara – I’ve heard nothing but good things about Vitamix. People that own them say they last decades. So, while the initial cost upfront is high, I’m sure it’ll pay itself off in the amount saved by making your own flours and sauces. I mean, almond flour and nut butters are pretty pricey so the savings would add up for sure! Also, you can make your own baby food with it!

  3. Jen January 18, 2011 at 16:29 #

    WAIT WAIT is the mini can for flour????

    • jessicamacho January 18, 2011 at 17:22 #

      Yes! Flour and so much more. It’s a dry blade to grind up, well, dry stuff like coffee beans, oatmeal (for oatmeal flour), and whole grains. But, I think if I were to try and make almond flour, I’d use the wet blade (the regular canister) since nuts are high in oils. (I think that’s what the manual said.)

  4. Carla pace January 20, 2011 at 04:36 #

    Jessica, your mom forwarded this to me, I am a Vitamix Rep and demo them at alot of Costco’s. Your mom saw us demoing them around Christmas. I am so happy you love your Vitamix! If any one on here wants to get one they can get ahold of us thru our email address. We can make sure they get one. Thanks again for sharing. Our email is Pacevitamix@gmail.com

    • jessicamacho January 20, 2011 at 09:18 #

      Hi, Carla! Yes, I remember emailing you. Ryan and I l-o-v-e LOVE our Vitamix. In fact, we just used it again last night for dinner. Thanks for your help in getting one shipped to us all the way out here Philadelphia! I’ll be sure to pass your info to anyone that may be interested!

  5. madfattergirl January 20, 2011 at 12:08 #

    Sounds Like something I am going to check out. =D

    • jessicamacho January 21, 2011 at 10:17 #

      Hi, madfattergirl! Thanks for stopping by my blog. Yeah, look into a Vitamix! I’ve made some pretty fun foods with it.

  6. Alison January 20, 2011 at 23:11 #

    Hey girl! You’re like my blog twin…check out my site. Similar concepts. I am also a cross fitter!!!! I don’t do it as religiously…but been doing it 70% of the time sine ’07. Keep workin it!!!!

    • jessicamacho January 23, 2011 at 20:58 #

      Hi, blog twin and fellow CF’er! Thanks for dropping by – I’m off to read up on your blog!

  7. madfattergirl January 21, 2011 at 14:16 #

    I am emailing my hubby a link to your blog so he can check it out. I think it would be a fun addition to my kitchen (and I LOVE TO COOK) once I can eat “real” food again. 😉

  8. Sara January 23, 2011 at 01:21 #

    Yeah I totally need that, I make baby food and like cauli-mashers and grind nuts now with the magic bullet food processor but it cant run for over a minute and its so small so I always have to half things to blend them correctly….sucks.

Leave a Reply

