Sweet Diggity

28 Jan

Don’t be fooled by the rocks guns that I got,
I’m still, I’m still Jenny Jessi from the block.
Used to have a little, now I got a lot.
No matter where I go, I know where I came from.

I’m in a J-Lo mood after watching the hilarious American Idol tryouts this week.  Speaking of “used to have a little, now I have a lot” I had the opportunity to test out my max pullups (strict, no kip) in a friendly competition among friends.

Thirteen.  Thirteen strict pullups.

Man, I remember feeling defeated and crying under the bar ’cause I thought I’d never get my first pullup.  And now… Thirteen!  And it feels GOOD.  Kind of like THIS good:

 

6 Responses to “Sweet Diggity”

  1. JD Ravenhurst January 29, 2011 at 18:49 #

    Congratulations! All the hard work is paying off. Keep training hard and the results will speak for themselves. 🙂

  2. Ryan January 31, 2011 at 10:14 #

    That was awesome… even after the “break” you were able to match your PR. Gotta get 15 now!!!

    You def have all the strength you need to blast through the AS RX’d pullup WODs, just need to work on that kip technique. I think once you start your afternoon sessions or just adding them into the warmup you’ll have them dialed in no time.

    • jessicamacho January 31, 2011 at 15:29 #

      Thanks, Ry! Remember when I was, like, “I only want to do 3 pullups – no more, no less. Just 3 pullups.” But now I’m thinking: more, More, MORE! There’s a name for this sickness I just can’t remember what it’s called. :oP I want to get back to The Porch scaling and bodyweight exercises as Rx’d! And, yes, I definitely need to add the the CF warmup back in.

  3. madfattergirl February 7, 2011 at 19:46 #

    You Rock girly! I can’t do any — I am gonna wait until I get a tad lighter to really try. Right now I just hang — sorta – haha!

    • jessicamacho February 9, 2011 at 20:42 #

      Hey, I totally remember a time when I couldn’t do any either! Hanging counts then it starts with your chin getting just an inch or two closer to the bar each time. How are you? I’m off to stop by your blog.

Leave a Reply

