Big Things Poppin’

12 Feb

©Jessica Camacho

That picture sums how I was about 2.5 weeks ago: lethargic, foggy in the head, UNMOTIVATED, unable to wake up, sick of these East Coast winters, groggy all freakin’ day, and out of energy.

I started noticing some not-cool things:

  1. I couldn’t go as hard at the gym. Just didn’t have the energy to.
  2. I didn’t even WANT to go the gym. (Highly unusual of me.)
  3. Bodyfat increases (naturally, given the above.)
  4. -10lb strength decreases on my squat and deadlifts

I’m a fan of: If you don’t like something in your life then PONY UP AND CHANGE THINGS. So, I sat down and literally wrote down some concrete goals:

  1. Get back into mountain biking shape – work the quads, hamstrings, all the good stuff.
  2. Squat, deadlift, bench press, and shoulder press every week to regain my strength.
  3. Benchpress my bodyweight in 2011.
  4. Get back into trail running shape – I should be able to run a 10k race on the fly without training for it.
  5. Work on the handstand pushups.
  6. Get back up to 3 consecutive strict muscle ups.

Then I set out to figure how to make all that happen. On a whim, I decided to search #CrossFit hashtag on Twitter. One thing hashtag led to another which led to this convo with Joe Petrusky, owner of CrossFit Love. (And, it just so happened that CrossFit Love is about 0.8 miles away. Puzzle pieces falling in place?  I think so.)

And the next thing I knew, I’m under a bar demonstrating a squat, doing interval burpees, finding my max pushups, shoulder pressing, doing sandbag sprints, bench pressing, doing clean & jerks, and learning how to use a kettlebell (and this is just my first week.) I needed this so badly. You have no idea. I’m going to be the next Mini Macho Camacho.

Don't laugh at my game face.

14 Responses to “Big Things Poppin’”

  1. Cera Hardin February 12, 2011 at 12:43 #

    Yup! It was calling your name… as a matter of fact, it had your name written on the front of the gym and you finally noticed it! Good for you. Hey, can you put some dragonfly wings on your back? When you are flying, you are free.

    • jessicamacho February 12, 2011 at 15:43 #

      I feel SO at “home” at this gym. It’s a much better experience. In fact, I’m pretty sure I have NEVER worked out this hard. I should’ve put wings on my back – maybe once I improve and step up my game!

  2. Joe Petrusky February 12, 2011 at 15:23 #

    Get Some.

  3. Craig "Chops" Zielinski February 12, 2011 at 15:24 #

    Goals are interesting things.

    You need to remember not to “train in all directions”. I spent ’09 chasing both a heavy deadlift and fast Fran time. Got nowhere with either.

    I’d build a massive strength base and work off of that. Strength makes everything else come easy. Building strength takes time, but pays massive dividends in all other aspects of your game.

    Strength up Jess. Watch the other shit happen by itself.

    • jessicamacho February 12, 2011 at 15:42 #

      AGREED! Couldn’t agree with you more. I’m working with Joe now so you KNOW I’m about strength up! Strength is my priority for now, no doubt. Feel free to drop any advice!

  4. JD Ravenhurst February 12, 2011 at 17:50 #

    Awesome post Jess. Loving the pictures! Great to hear about the goals and the new crossfit “box” that you’ve found.

    • jessicamacho February 15, 2011 at 05:48 #

      Thanks, JD! The new CF box is such a fun time (well, fun after the WOD!) I’m sure CF’ing there will help me reach those goals a lot quicker.

  5. Stephanie February 14, 2011 at 17:11 #

    Your blog is so motivating! I wish you lived near me so you could help me out at the gym:)

    • jessicamacho February 15, 2011 at 05:49 #

      Thank you! I would SO help you at the gym, if only we lived closer. I see you’re a photographer, too! Good stuff!

  6. madfattergirl February 15, 2011 at 19:07 #

    Everyone else has listed all the good exercise stuff … so … I will comment about the GREAT pics — loved the leading one. Did you create that? If so …. GREAT JOB.

    • jessicamacho February 17, 2011 at 06:14 #

      Thanks, madfattergirl! Yes, I created the first multiplicity image. Sometimes I get these crazy vivid picture ideas in my head and HAVE to create them to get them off my mind.

  7. heather February 16, 2011 at 09:27 #

    Once again you are looking crazy strong!

    • jessicamacho February 17, 2011 at 06:17 #

      Aww, thanks Heather! CrossFit will do that to a girl. 🙂 How is CrossFit Strom doing?

Leave a Reply

