1 Week Down (A Lifetime To Go?)

22 Feb

I just wrapped up the first week of my super strict 30-Day Paleo challenge.  WHY the heck would I eat ONLY: delicious meat, eggs, fish, a ton of water, loads of vegetables, some fruits, a little nuts, and NOTHING ELSE for 30 days? The decision was easy when I considered the following:

  1. Though I was arguably one of the strongest chics at my previous globo (personal, and admittedly arrogant, opinion here), I felt like THE slowest and weakest girl at CrossFit Love. I just want to perform better. So, I’m playing catch-up and a good place to start is with the Paleo Challenge seeing as the other members just wrapped up their 30-day Challenge.
  2. I’ve been thinking about trying a strict Paleo Challenge; joining CFLove just catalyzed the decision.
  3. I’m testing my 1RM’s in  5 weeks and I want to set some PR’s. I need food that fuels!

To be honest, I haven’t had trouble “giving up” any “foods.” The real challenge for me has been making sure to eat enough. The intensity and volume of my workouts have increased so I’ve been just PLOWING through food like you would not believe.

So, in case you’re wondering why I’m sipping on some “Dihydrogen Monoxide on the Rocks” when we’re at The Standard Tap or why the heck there is rabbit and duck in my freezer, now you’ll know.  Not gonna lie, it feels good to eat almost as much as a grown man while my Hollister denim mini fits better than ever. Now let’s see what this does for my deadlifts.

10 Responses to “1 Week Down (A Lifetime To Go?)”

  1. Kristinefitness February 22, 2011 at 19:08 #

    Your blog is looking awesome 🙂 Do you really have a rabbit in your freezer, lol?

    • jessicamacho February 23, 2011 at 14:20 #

      Kristine, hi! Thanks for compliment. And, yes, I do have a rabbit in my freezer – it’s all cleaned up and stuff like how you’d find a cornish hen. Definitely no fur or anything. Okay, I’m getting carried away with details here. I’m exploring new sources of protein as I make an effort to be more conscientious about where and from whom I get my sources of food.

  2. Joe Petrusky February 22, 2011 at 19:57 #

    Performance Nutrition is 85 % of what we do. Keep it up, Jess.

  3. thor February 25, 2011 at 11:22 #

    Did you feel a difference? I also started Paleo about a week ago (from the Zone) and the lack of carbs makes me generally feel a bit weaker, especially on the higher reps. I assume that’ll pass though

    • jessicamacho February 25, 2011 at 16:21 #

      I do feel a difference! Especially in the way I feel. If I eat so much as half of a hamburger bun, I get really comatose. At first I was hungry all.the.time but my coach, Joe, recommended that I up my intake of healthy fats. That seems to be doing the trick. But, no, I don’t feel weaker; if anything, I don’t feel as “bogged down.” Are you doing a 30 day Paleo challenge, Thor?

  4. thor March 2, 2011 at 09:50 #

    Not really a 30 day challenge. I decided that now was a good time to lose weight, and when I announced this on my blog, some kind soul suggested I’d lower the carbs, and suggested the Primal Blueprint as reading. I hence went Paleo (ish – I actually do dairy) to see how it goes, and so far I am really quite happy. I have 50-100g of carbs/day, and I lost almost 3kg already (there might be some glycogen in the mix though). I was feeling a bit weaker at the beginning, but I think this got better (dont really know as I got ill 😦 )

    • jessicamacho March 3, 2011 at 01:08 #

      Nice job on the 3kg loss, Thor. It is an adjustment at first, no doubt. But, it seems you are making out well. I have the Primal Blueprint Cookbook – it’s pretty good. I, like you, am really quite happy with Paleo. Come to think of it, I don’t think I’ve heard of anyone NOT finding a positive experience with cleaning up their nutrition.

  5. david pugh March 2, 2011 at 23:48 #

    hey jesse are you still doing the whole30?? if so then how are you making out?? and what advice can you offer because i’m thinking about doing this myself.

    • jessicamacho March 3, 2011 at 01:05 #

      Hey, David! YES, I’m still doing the Whole30! It’s going great – I just wrapped up 2 solid weeks and I’m blazing right into my 3rd week. So far, so good. I’m loving it. For some it’s difficult at first to cut out “normal” foods but it gets easier with time. I find that Paleo has really simplified my eating and cooking – it doesn’t get much simpler than meats, veggies, fruits, nuts. As for advice, I would recommend always keeping a Paleo stocked fridge and pantry. You’ll be less likely to fall off the bandwagon when you have options in front of you. Be prepared to cook your meals – it’s the best way to know exactly what’s in your meals. And, lastly, I have found that setting aside time to prep, cut, chop ingredients or veggies for the upcoming week has really helped make cooking easier and faster. I hope that helps. I think it’s worth a shot and you should definitely try it. I have found the positive effects of a Paleo lifestyle greatly outweigh the effort it takes to do the challenge. I just FEEL good – like my body WORKS the way it’s supposed to.

Leave a Reply

