PR’s

1 May

I’m blaming my lack of recent blog posts on my ultra chaotic major life changes. And when I write “major” I mean “this is (more) mayjah” than David Beckham hanging on the beach sipping on Pepsi. But more about my life in due time.

I’m dropping in to jot down my recent PR’s established during “PR Week” at CrossFit Love. I’ve been consistently working on my four major lifts for only less than a year so, as Craig “The Z” Zielinski pointed out, these are probably not my true 1RM’s just yet. But, it’s good starting point and I won’t lie, I like that I’ve graduated into Rippetoe’s Strength Standards “Advanced” category.

Bodyweight: 108-110#
Squat: 155#
Deadlift: 205#
Press: 85#
Bench: 105# 110#

I was most disappointed in my squat but most pleased with my bench press. Such is life. Sometimes I can’t have it all (all at once.)

This vid, filmed by Ryan and me and compiled by Joe, has been posted elsewhere on the interwebs but here are my CF Love teammates (including Tweeps @deckerra, @polobear716, @laurenancona @JeanineDESQ, and @klhorn22) setting some PR’s:

I sat down with Joe and jotted down some goals to eventually accomplish. I’m not going to work on all of these at the same, that may be detrimental. For now, I’d like to focus on my developing just my strength. Call me naive but I think the stronger I am, the faster I’ll be able to move weight around. It takes a lot longer to develop strength than cardio, metcons, and technical skills like double unders, so it makes sense to focus in on strength now.

10 Responses to “PR’s”

  1. Sarah May 1, 2011 at 12:50 #

    Those look like some great goals! Keep it up! I can’t wait until I can start lifting heavy again…I miss everything that comes with that.

    • jessicamacho May 28, 2011 at 03:59 #

      How are you, Sarah? I’ve been following your blog and I’m sure you’ll be lifting heavy again in no time. For now you’ve got an important reason not to! Exciting times for you!

  2. Jess May 1, 2011 at 12:51 #

    Girl those are some great numbers! I love your goals list. I just made one myself because you inspired me. Hanging it in the gym tomorrow. Great, great work! ūüôā

    • jessicamacho May 28, 2011 at 03:56 #

      Thanks, Jess! I’m very goal-oriented and making a list really motivates me and gives me purpose behind workouts. Would love to hear about your goals sometime. That’s awesome that you hung it in the gym. Right on.

  3. Thor Falk May 1, 2011 at 17:01 #

    Impressive numbers – and those are the weaknesses you want to work on ?!? ūüôā

    • jessicamacho May 28, 2011 at 03:55 #

      Thank you, Thor! It’s always good to work the weaknesses, no? ūüôā

  4. JD Ravenhurst May 3, 2011 at 06:06 #

    Good to see you back on here Jess. Keep up the good work.

    On a side note, surely CF Love need to invest in some heavier weight plates if they can’t even fit collars on the bar? >.<

    • jessicamacho May 28, 2011 at 03:54 #

      Hey, JD, thanks for dropping by and thanks for the encouragement. CFLove, at the time of this filming, was only 3 months old and I don’t think such big gains were expected in such a short amount of time! I’m sure they’ll be loading up on MORE weights now!

  5. Jenni May 28, 2011 at 00:11 #

    Hey Jess! I’ve been meaning to ask you how your 30-Day Primal Challenge ended up? I’m currently doing the Whole30 (on Day 6!). Any thoughts? It’s been pretty simple and easy thus far, just going out is a challenge. How did that work out for you?

    • jessicamacho May 28, 2011 at 03:53 #

      Hi, Jenni! My Paleo Challenge went really well. I noticed great gains in strength and my body just felt great… like it worked the way it should. I never had digestive issues, headaches, and I noticed my skin complexion even improved. I really liked the benefits of Paleo. As for eating out, I generally found it easier not to eat out but in the event I was out with friends or something, I would pick something on the menu and “Paleo-fy” it. For example, I’d order a burger, no bun, no cheese, extra lettuce and tomato, sometimes an egg on top, and a side of avocado. I’d also ask for the fries to be replaced with a salad. Seafood or steak dishes were also an option, instead of salad dressing I’d get oil and vinegar. Hope that helps! Congrats on making it to Day 6 of your challenge!

Leave a Reply

