Reebok CrossFit Games 2011

12 Aug

The move to Colorado was delayed a week in order to attend the annual CrossFit Games… actually, it’s called the Reebok|CrosssFit Games now. Formality aside, I know it as the convention of fit hard-bodies. Everywhere you looked it was traps! deltoids! six-pack abs! and solid bums! made for oly lifting, sprinting, weighted pullups, and sled-pushing.

The energy was INFECTIOUS. It’s kind of pointless to write about it because it’s just one of those events you just have to experience. Not only could you watch these insanely fit athletes compete in an arena (yes, kind of like Spartacus but no one literally dies), but there was also bull-riding, stand-up paddling, coaching from Rob Orlando (yes, please,) workout gear shopping, jump-rope fitting, and CrossFit web-celebs to be met. In fact, it was at the CrossFit Games that I got to reunite with Joe Petrusky from CrossFit Love and hilarious and witty blogger, Fitbomb. For anyone that didn’t know, Fitbomb’s wife is the culinary genius behind NomNom Paleo (sometimes when I’m hungry, I go to her blog and drool at the pictures.)

Ryan "@deckerra" Decker, Joe Petrusky (owner of CrossFit Love), and me.

Henry "@fitbomb" and me!

Anyway, here is a very, very, very small collection of images. I got a little shutter happy (I’ve seen 6-pack abs before just not THAT many all in one location.)

8 Responses to “Reebok CrossFit Games 2011”

  1. Saraharah August 12, 2011 at 13:54 #

    The Games were incredible this year! I don’t know what we’re going to do next year–seems we’ve outgrown the HDC in just 2 short years! Exciting to see what is to come 🙂

    • jessicamacho August 12, 2011 at 14:11 #

      The Games was an amazing experience! It was PACKED out for the final event. I was wondering Reebok/CF will only be selling a limited amount of tix or moving the event to another stadium or the soccer field at the HDC. But, like you said, very exciting times for CrossFit!

  2. Justin Doran August 12, 2011 at 18:01 #

    Your photos are too good, love that one of coach Glassman looking over out of the corner of his eyes. I will definitely be there next year!

    • jessicamacho August 26, 2011 at 15:15 #

      Maybe I’ll see you there! I didn’t realize Glassman was even there until the awards ceremony. Thanks for the compliments on the photos!

  3. Jeff Castro August 14, 2011 at 20:41 #

    The energy was addicting! Especially during the monkey bar event when athletes would turn the monkey bars without jumping off! Or… When the chick from Crossfit New England did Fran un-broken!? OR… LOL… Too many to list! I wish I couldve had the chance to meet you in person! #NextTime -@3_LeggedRace

    • jessicamacho August 26, 2011 at 15:15 #

      Wasn’t CFNE’s team crazy good? That unbroken Fran gave me chills – who does that?!! We will definitely have to meet next time. I actually was standing next to a couple of guys in a “Burpees Suck” shirt but I didn’t realize at the time that it was you guys.

  4. Pedro Martins August 26, 2011 at 14:24 #

    Jess “Camacho” !?! Are you portuguese origin ?

    Bst

    Pedro Martins from Portugal

    • jessicamacho August 26, 2011 at 15:14 #

      No, not portuguese. But, that would be cool! I’m actually from Guam, a pacific island. But, the Spanish colonized the island a long long long time ago and so many Guamanian names have Spanish dialects or are of Spanish origin!

Leave a comment